Skip to main content
Situation Room

Coach's Challenge: NAT @ FIN - 17:23 of First Period

Original call is overturned: No goal Team North America

NHL.com @NHL

Situation Room: NAT @ FIN

Situation Room: Finland wins coach's challenge in 1st

Connor McDavid is awarded a goal, but after review, the call is overturned as it is determined Mark Scheifele pushed Pekka Rinne into the net

  • 01:17 •

At 17:23 of the first period in the Team North America/Team Finland game, Team Finland requested a Coach's Challenge to review whether a Team North America player interfered with Team Finland goaltender Pekka Rinne prior to Team North America's goal. 

After reviewing all available replays and consulting with NHL Hockey Operations staff, the Referee determined that the actions of Team North America's Mark Scheifele caused Team Finland's Aleksander Barkov to contact Rinne before the puck crossed the goal line. According to Rule 78.7, "The standard for overturning the call in the event of a 'GOAL' call on the ice is that the Referee, after reviewing any and all available replays and consulting with the Toronto Video Room, determines that the goal should have been disallowed due to 'Interference on the Goalkeeper,' as described in Rules 69.1 and 69.3."

Therefore the original call is overturned - no goal Team North America. 

Since the Coach's Challenge resulted in the original call being overturned, Team Finland retain their time-out

--- 

Coach's Challenge 
1. A team may only request a Coach's Challenge to review the following scenarios: 

a) "Off-Side" Play Leading to a Goal 
A play that results in a "GOAL" call on the ice where the defending team asserts that the play should have been stopped by reason of an "Off-Side" infraction by the attacking team. 

b) Scoring Plays Involving Potential "Interference on the Goalkeeper" 

(i) A play that results in a "GOAL" call on the ice where the defending team asserts that the goal should have been disallowed due to "Interference on the Goalkeeper," as described in Rules 69.1, 69.3 and 69.4; or 

(ii) A play that results in a "NO GOAL" call on the ice despite the puck having entered the net, where the on-ice Officials have determined that the attacking team was guilty of "Interference on the Goalkeeper" but where the attacking team asserts: (i) there was no actual contact of any kind initiated by an attacking Player with the goalkeeper; or (ii) the attacking Player was pushed, shoved, or fouled by a defending Player causing the attacking Player to come into contact with the goalkeeper; or (iii) the attacking Player's positioning within the goal crease did not impair the goalkeeper's ability to defend his goal and, in fact, had no discernible impact on the play. 

2. A team may only request a Coach's Challenge if they have their time-out available and the Coach's Challenge must be effectively initiated prior to the resumption of play. 

3. If the Coach's Challenge does not result in the original call on the ice being overturned, the team exercising such challenge will forfeit its time-out. 

4. If the Coach's Challenge does result in the call on the ice being overturned, the team successfully exercising such challenge will retain its time-out. 

View More