Skip to main content
Situation Room

Video Review: Team Europe @ Team Sweden - 3:43 of OT

Original call stands: Good goal Team Europe

NHL.com @NHL

Situation Room: EUR vs. SWE

Situation Room: Tatar's overtime winner stands

The referees review Tomas Tatar's overtime goal that deflects off his skate, and after review, the call stands as a good goal for Team Europe

  • 01:10 •

At 3:43 of overtime in the Team Europe/Team Sweden game, video review confirmed that the puck deflected off of Tomas Tatar's skate and entered the Team Sweden net in a legal fashion. According to Rule 49.2 "A puck that deflects into the net off an attacking player's skate who does not use a distinct kicking motion is a legitimate goal." Good goal Team Europe. 

View More
Situation Room

Coach's Challenge: EUR @ SWE - 2:31 of Second Period

Original call stands: Good goal Team Sweden

NHL.com @NHL

Situation Room: EUR vs. SWE

Situation Room: Backstrom's goal stands after review

Team Europe challenges goaltender interference on Nicklas Backstorm's rebound goal, and after review, the goal is confirmed for Team Sweden

  • 01:07 •

At 2:31 of the second period in the Team Europe/Team Sweden game, Team Europe requested a Coach's Challenge to review whether a Team Sweden player interfered with Team Europe goaltender Jaroslav Halak prior to Nicklas Backstrom's goal. 

After reviewing all available replays and consulting with NHL Hockey Operations staff, the Referee confirmed no goaltender interference infractions occurred before the puck crossed the goal line.

View More
Situation Room

Coach's Challenge: CAN @ USA - 6:05 of First Period

Original call stands: Good goal Team Canada

NHL.com @NHL

Situation Room: CAN vs. USA

Situation Room: Perry's goal stands following review

Team Canada's goal goes in off Corey Perry and, after review, officials determine he did not interfere with Jonathan Quick and the goal stands

  • 01:47 •

At 6:05 of the first period in the Team Canada/Team USA game, Team USA requested a Coach's Challenge to review whether Corey Perry interfered with Team USA goaltender Jonathan Quick before the puck entered the net.

After reviewing all available replays and consulting with NHL Hockey Operations staff, the Referee confirmed no goaltender interference infractions occurred before the puck crossed the goal line.

View More
Situation Room

Coach's Challenge: NAT @ FIN - 17:23 of First Period

Original call is overturned: No goal Team North America

NHL.com @NHL

Situation Room: NAT @ FIN

Situation Room: Finland wins coach's challenge in 1st

Connor McDavid is awarded a goal, but after review, the call is overturned as it is determined Mark Scheifele pushed Pekka Rinne into the net

  • 01:17 •

At 17:23 of the first period in the Team North America/Team Finland game, Team Finland requested a Coach's Challenge to review whether a Team North America player interfered with Team Finland goaltender Pekka Rinne prior to Team North America's goal. 

After reviewing all available replays and consulting with NHL Hockey Operations staff, the Referee determined that the actions of Team North America's Mark Scheifele caused Team Finland's Aleksander Barkov to contact Rinne before the puck crossed the goal line. According to Rule 78.7, "The standard for overturning the call in the event of a 'GOAL' call on the ice is that the Referee, after reviewing any and all available replays and consulting with the Toronto Video Room, determines that the goal should have been disallowed due to 'Interference on the Goalkeeper,' as described in Rules 69.1 and 69.3."

View More
Situation Room

Video Review: NAT @ FIN - 6:50 of the First Period

Puck did not cross goal line: No goal Team North America

NHL.com @NHL

Situation Room: NAT @ FIN

Situation Room: No goal call stands following review

Nathan MacKinnon's deflection is stopped short of the goal line, and after a review, referees confirm the original call on the ice of no goal

  • 01:01 •

At 6:50 of the first period in the Team North America/Team Finland game, video review confirmed that Nathan MacKinnon's deflection at 6:15 did not cross the Team Finland goal line. No goal Team North America. 

View More
Situation Room

Video Review: Sweden @ Russia - 19:51 of 3rd period

Officials uphold call: No goal Team Russia

NHL.com @NHL

Situation Room: SWE vs. RUS

Situation Room: No-goal call confirmed late in 3rd

Alex Ovechkin's goal in the final seconds of the 3rd period is immediately waved off, and after review, is confirmed as no-goal

  • 01:16 •

At 19:51 of the third period in the Team Sweden/Team Russia game, video review supported the call on the ice that Team Russia forward Alex Ovechkin batted the puck into the net with his glove. According to Rule 67.6 "a goal cannot be scored by an attacking player who bats or directs the puck with his hand into the net" . No goal Team Russia.

View More
Situation Room

Coach's Challenge: CZE @ CAN - 8:26 of First Period

Original call stands: good goal Team Canada

NHL.com @NHL

Situation Room: CZE vs. CAN

Situation Room: Crosby's goal stands after review

Sidney Crosby scores, Team Czech Republic challenges for goaltender interference, and after a review, the goal call is confirmed

  • 01:09 •

At 8:26 of the first period in the Team Czech Republic/Team Canada game, Team Czech Republic requested a Coach's Challenge to review whether a Team Canada player interfered with Team Czech Republic goaltender Michal Neuvirth prior to Sidney Crosby's goal. 

After reviewing all available replays and consulting with NHL Hockey Operations staff, the Referee confirmed no goaltender interference infractions occurred before the puck crossed the goal line.

View More
Situation Room

Video Review: USA @ Europe - 14:10 of the 2nd period

Original call is overturned: no goal Team USA

NHL.com @NHL

van Riemsdyk's chance disallowed

USA@EUR: USA goal disallowed on illegal deflection

James van Riemsdyk has a goal disallowed after review, as the puck was ruled to have been deliberately deflected into the net with his body

  • 01:12 •

At 14:10 of the second period in the Team USA/Team Europe game, video review determined that James van Riemsdyk deliberately directed the puck into the Team Europe net with his body. According to Rule 78.5 (i) "Apparent goals shall be disallowed when the puck has been directed, batted or thrown into the net by an attacking player other than with a stick."

View More
Situation Room

Situation Room returns for World Cup of Hockey

Hockey Ops in Toronto will review all disputed goals and coach's challenges

NHL.com @NHL

Just as with all National Hockey League games, the World Cup of Hockey will also leave nothing to chance.

Starting with pre-tournament games on Tuesday, September 13th, the National Hockey League's Hockey Operations Department will review and rule on all disputed goals and coach's challenges from the Situation Room in Toronto.

View More