Skip to main content
Situation Room

Video Review: USA @ Europe - 14:10 of the 2nd period

Original call is overturned: no goal Team USA

NHL.com @NHL

van Riemsdyk's chance disallowed

USA@EUR: USA goal disallowed on illegal deflection

James van Riemsdyk has a goal disallowed after review, as the puck was ruled to have been deliberately deflected into the net with his body

  • 01:12 •

At 14:10 of the second period in the Team USA/Team Europe game, video review determined that James van Riemsdyk deliberately directed the puck into the Team Europe net with his body. According to Rule 78.5 (i) "Apparent goals shall be disallowed when the puck has been directed, batted or thrown into the net by an attacking player other than with a stick."

The fact that the puck deflected off of Derek Stepan has no bearing on the ruling. According to Rule 67.6 "A goal cannot be scored by an attacking player who bats or directs the puck and it is deflected into the net off any player, goalkeeper or official." No goal Team USA. 

View More